Policy Committee


The Policy Committee meets four times a year on the second Monday of February, June, August, and November.

2023 Policy Committee Meeting Dates

  • February 13th, 2023
  • June 12th, 2023
  • August 14th, 2023
  • November 13th, 2023

2021 Policy Committee Meeting Dates

  • February 8th, 2021
  • June 14th, 2021
  • August 9th, 2021
  • November 8th, 2021

2022 Policy Committee Meeting Dates

  • February, 14th 2022 
  • June 13th, 2022
  •  August 8th, 2022
  • November 14th, 2022 

2023 Policy Committee Members

  • Manning Lynch, Spartanburg County Council, Chair
  • Jerome Rice, Mayor of City of Spartanburg, 1st Vice-Chair
  • Representative Rosalyn Henderson-Myers, Spartanburg County Legislative Delegation, 2nd Vice Chair
  • Ned Camby, Mayor of Pacolet
  • Bruce Mahaffey, Mayor of Chesnee
  • Glenn Greer II, Mayor of Lyman
  • Scott Messenger, Mayor of Reidville
  • Dewey Harrelson, Jr., Mayor of Central Pacolet
  • Mike Hamrick, Mayor of Cowpens
  • Julian Hankinson, Private Sector Representative
  • Cornelius Huff, Mayor of Inman
  • Whit Kennedy, Spartanburg County Planning Commission, Chair
  • Roger Nutt, Spartanburg County Legislative Delegation
  • Rob Rain, Spartanburg City Council
  • Shirley Clopton, Mayor of Duncan
  • John Throckmorton, Spartanburg County Transportation Committee (CTC), Chair
  • Bob Walker, Spartanburg County Council
  • Pat Watson, Mayor of Wellford
  • Philip Stone, City of Spartanburg Planning Commission, Chair 
  • Woodrow Willard, Spartanburg Chamber of Commerce

Ex-Officio Members

  • Max Metcalf, South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) Commissioner, Fourth District
  • Brent Rewis, Deputy Secretary for Intermodal Planning
  • Mark Pleasant, Federal Highway Administrator

About the Committee

The SPATS Policy Committee is the decision making body of the Spartanburg Area Transportation Study. Responsible for coordinating basic policies of the transportation planning process and plan implementation, the SPATS Policy Committee determines priorities of transportation projects and approves the Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), the Long Range Transportation Plan, and the Unified Planning Work Program. It is primarily comprised of elected officials representing municipal, county, and state governing bodies within the study area.

View the SPATS Policy Committee Bylaws (PDF).